The target audience for this qualification is:

  • Existing ITIL® Expert qualification holders including those who have 17 Credits with the ITIL® v3 credit scheme, wishing to develop their knowledge and application.

The purpose of the ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition Qualification is:

  • To allow candidates of the previous iteration of ITIL® the opportunity of a straightforward transition to ITIL® 4 for the candidates to achieve the designation of ITIL® 4 Managing Professional
  • To provide candidates with an understanding of the new ITIL® 4 Foundation concepts and definitions which will include key differences between the previous iteration of ITIL®v3 and ITIL® 4 and how the candidates can practically apply their knowledge
  • To provide candidates with an understanding of the key elements from each one of the four ITIL® Managing Professional (MP) modules and also ITIL® 4 Foundation.

ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition module Outcomes and Purpose:

The ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition module is designed to allow ITIL® Experts or ITIL® v3 candidates who have already invested to easily transition across to ITIL® 4. They can gain the designation of ITIL® 4 Managing Professional via one course and one exam.

ITIL® v3 candidates must have gained a minimum of 17 credits from the ITIL® v3 Foundation and Intermediate/Practitioner modules or an ITIL® Expert certificate. ITIL® 4 Foundation can be accepted to replace ITIL® v3 Foundation, plus 15 credits from ITIL® Intermediate/Practitioner modules.

The Transition module recognizes the candidate’s existing achievements and allows them to gain the up-to-date skills and knowledge needed to navigate the digital service economy.

The ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition module is composed of core elements of the following modules:

  • ITIL® 4 Specialist: Create, Deliver and Support
  • ITIL® 4 Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL® 4 Specialist: High Velocity IT
  • ITIL® 4 Strategist: Direct Plan and Improve
  • ITIL® 4 Foundation.

Duration of course is over a period of 5 days and on the last day being the 5th day candidates will write the exam.

ITIL® 4 Transition Examination Design:

Duration of the exam is 90 Minutes.

Prerequisites: The candidate must have the ITIL® Expert certification or have 17 credits under the ITIL® Credit scheme. In addition, the candidate must have attended an accredited training course for this module (the recommended duration for this training is 30 hours including the examination)

Exam consists of 40 Objective test questions (OTQ’s) which will require the candidate to achieve a mark of 28 out of 40 which is 70% in order to pass the course and obtain the Certificate.

Course materials:

Material for this course will be provided as a Hard copy and candidates can use the files under the Secudac “Terms of Use”

Please note: From 1 November 2019, all AXELOS courses certified by PeopleCert need to be purchased with the exam. For any queries about this, please contact our Sales Team on

Book Now Training Schedule